Wanderlust Callin'

Italy – Serenaded by the Sensuous Venetian Magic

Oh Bella’Italia, how you have conspired to steal my heart and hypnotize my soul and of a zillion others as well. Whether it is the awe-inspiring and alluring Venice with its exquisite waterfront palazzos, marble palaces and the enchanting gondola rides or the cradle of renaissance and treasure house of world’s most impressive artistic masterpieces, the magnetic and romantic Florence or the eternal city Rome, which is indeed an exhilarating spectacle adorned with Byzantine mosaics and Baroque facades and architectural magnificence which needs no introduction, I am still clueless as to what it is about you which draws me to you like a moth to a flame as cliché as it sounds! Or maybe it is all of it. When I started to write down my travel experiences with this stunning country, I found myself wishing desperately if I could go back in time or to go again which would be even better!

We started off with Venice, a city unlike any other, a city that inspires poetry and passion. Water shimmers everywhere with canals where streets should be. Gliding through the Grand Canal experiencing the world-famous gondola ride against the backdrop of the majestic Venetian palaces and the quintessential buildings felt like cruising through a dreamy painting.

pic1
Enjoying the Venetian Gondola with my man 🙂
pic2
Trying to capture the beauty of the Venetian canals.

We took a boat ride over the Giudecca canal to the Piazza San Marco also known as St.Marks’ square which was referred to as the ‘finest drawing room in Europe’ by Napolean for its constant carnival atmosphere! There we came across the legendary Venetian gothic style Doge’s palace, the prison Prigioni and of course the Bridge of Sighs connecting the two. Legend has it that the bridge earned its name from the fact that prisoners who walked on it, on the way to their prison cells or the execution chamber, would sigh as they caught their last glimpses of Venice through the tiny windows. But apart from the disturbing fable, this is a lovely spot with lot of photo ops and you can even watch the gondolas go by.

pic4
The Bridge of Sighs !

The centerpiece of the Piazza is of course the St. Mark’s Basilica, nicknamed as Church of Gold for its grandiose design, gold ground mosaics, and its status as a symbol of Venetian wealth and power.

pic7
St. Mark’s Basilica
pic10
A selfie in front of the Basilica 🙂

The basilica has a separate campanile – a bell tower – that stands 98.6 meters tall (323 ft) and is one of the city’s most recognizable landmarks. An elevator will whisk you up to the top for spectacular views across the city and the lagoon.

pic11
The Bell Tower.

Some more memories captured in the wonderland of Venice ❤

pic14
One more off the bucket-list! Yeaay 😀  And a pose with the venetian mask 😉
pic15
Had to do the hat pose by the Grand Canal 😉
pic16
❤ ❤ ❤

Some spells are simply too hard to break and the magic cast by the charm of Venice was no different. However, our next destination was the fabulous Florence, the birthplace of the famed and revered artists Leonardo da Vinci, Botticelli and Michelangelo, so we left Venice with the prospects of having something amazing to look forward to again. The second part of my Italy travelogue series will be featuring these fantastic sights of Florence and ah, not to forget the Leaning Tower of Pisa, one of the world’s must see monuments and so touristy and fun, so hope you stay tuned 🙂

85 thoughts on “Italy – Serenaded by the Sensuous Venetian Magic

    1. Haha, “totes adorbs”. Don’t you really have a way with words Diane 😀 Such sassy comments and I consider myself lucky to be your blogger friend ❤ Wow, it is indeed awesome to know that things have not changed much. They always say Venice is under the threaten of rise in sea-level and mass tourism and we would all be devastated if the city of canals loses its inherent charm 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great photos, so many memories 😊 I once visited Venice on a day trip and resolved to go back as I fell in love immediately! We returned two years ago and stayed for several days, just getting lost in the back streets. It was marvellous and still remains one of the most magical places I’ve ever been.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah yes, magical is one word I am totally with you in the matter of Venice ❤ And as always lucky you to be staying in the UK and can wander to other European countries unlike poor souls like us who have to try and relish every minute of Europe till our visa time allows 🙂 Thank you for dropping by Haylee dear 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovebirds!!! I can feel so much love in you two.. and this is just perfect postcards you have captured so well.Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories Minaxi, you are always full of positivity in your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Its so obvious only blind cannot see it.I haven’t met you in person but I really feel the genuine kindness in you that radiates in your smiles.
        I know you two will go a long way & I wish that someday you will be blessed with a beautiful child just like you..and then you tag him/her along in your journeys full of love! Isn’t that exciting? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Isn’t that the sweetest blessing I have received in quite a while ❤ I just love the picture of it and oh, yes it would be so wonderful to have one more to share all the excitement and fun in travelling 🙂 Thank you so much Christina for this lovely wish of yours ❤ ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      1. :* I’m a newbie, too, and I like when someone read my posts. That’s why I read yours… and others. I also find interesting things in this beautiful world WordPress blogosphere. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. It was so lovely to read this post. I was in Venice over several years ago and this just brought me right back. Can’t wait to hear about Florence and Pisa next 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is indeed a privilege to put a smile on that lovely woman’s face. And yes, I do mean you dear Jacqueline ❤ I am so happy that my shenanigans make you smile and you pause by to encourage me and let me know your wonderful thoughts 🙂 Thank you for the lovely comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a happy colorful post that brought back so many wonderful memories for me Minaxi. Venice is one of my favorite cities in Italy, it’s my parents homeland region and I’ve been there a number of times. I fell in love with it the first time when I visited with them when I was 14 and most recently have been back with my man. You two lovebirds look so happy, such lovely photos, thanks so much for sharing with us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow. Venice is your parents homeland ? 😮 I can imagine you as a 14 year old,marvelling at the charm the city of canals oozes 🙂 But visiting with your guy takes it to another level right 🙂 The gondola rides are really a must-do like everyone says. Thank you for your delightful comments and I am so happy that I could bring back some lovely memories for you as well with my post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my goodness! I absolutely found this post fantastic!! I was awwwww and aaaaahhhh and oooooh the whole time as I was scrolling up and down the page. My favorite one is the two love birds in front of the Basilica! WOW!! WOW!! I love it because the smiles are natural, not forced and just adorable!
    Love, love, love it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. heehee..I can imagine the gorgoeus lady awwwing ahhhing 😉 Thank you for your lovely words straight from your heart Dajena 🙂 And yes we love taking selfies and when its a selfie we automatically start grinning like idiots 😛 Sometimes it turns adorable like this one 😉

      Like

  6. The magic of this city never leaves you once you’ve been. 🙂 It’s a lot of years ago for me but I still hold it in reverence. It was featured recently on the Travelling Man mini series on TV and though the presenter itks me somewhat I was spellbound in the beauty. Happy travels! I’ll be back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow what a trip! How long are you there for? You and hubby look like you are having a very romantic and fabulous time! What an interesting story regarding the Bridge of Sighs…I can understand why they would…St. Mark’s is impressive. I’ve never been to Italy, my parents have and they loved it. Wishing you two a continued delightful time!! Looking forward to your next post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We were there only for a day Deb but, yes we did have a ball there 😀 It was so dreamy and yes romantic of course ❤ I loved St.Mark's square too 🙂 Ooh, its nice to know that your parents loved Italy. I hope you also get a chance to visit the wonderful country soon 🙂 Thanks a lot Debbie dear for stopping by and your encouraging words. It means a lot to me , especially when my dearest followers say they are looking forward to my new posts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow wow wow. Beautiful photographs and what a lovely couple you make. Italy is at the top of my travel wish list. It’s my favourite country, yet I’ve never even been! It makes my heart melt. Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. been there and i know how beautiful that place is 😀 have you been to any other place except italy? I’m currently roaming around the whole europe while being a part of a scholarship and Italy has by far been my favourite 😀
    loved the pictures 😀 and i know the feeling of being to one of the most beautiful places with your better half, oh that feeling ❤
    look forward to reading more from you 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow guuurl! Don you have the perfect life 😀 Roaming the whole Europe being part of a scholarship 😮 I am going soooo green 😀 What ARE you studying?? 😛 Thanks for dropping by and the lovely compliments 🙂 I had the privilege of visiting around 8 countries on our trip to Europe. Hoping to do some justice to my experiences there in due course of time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha No girl, you do have that perfect life 😀 I’m studying Botany and you don’t need to thank me you’re so rocking the blogosphere yourself that I’m the one who’s going green 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Whaaa 😮 As much as I appreciate your wonderful compliments and am over the moon here(doing the happy dance routine 😛 ) I just started the blog around 4 months back and still learning my ways around the blogosphere 🙂
        Ah, botany! I knew I should have paid more attention to the different species of florae in my science class. Sadly I was passing notes with my gang at that time 😛

        Like

  10. Way better insight towards the beauty that lies within the boundaries of Italy. Definitely a place to be at and through the pictures, you two look like one amazing couple out there, i get the sense, one of a kind since any beauty the eyes see is compelled to use the heart as the center of thought and i am in so much awe of you two, having seen just little already. As the story in the tales of my red, beautiful Venice was visited by one of the loveliest couples in the world at the moment. Best Wishes. – Cezane

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow 🙂 How can you make even a comment on a post make so poetic and fantasy story like 🙂 Such talent is one of a kind and so awe-inspiring 🙂 Thanks a lot Cezane for these lovely comments which is deeply cherished by me 🙂 Stay blessed and have a wonderful day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Hiya! Top blogging… Counting down the days til our trip to Venice… I have a Q for you…

    Now I know it’s all personal preference but we are debating getting a water taxi from the airport vs a vaporetto. What was your choice? Anything to share on your experience? I’ve heard that nothing beats a water taxi, however the price has me coming over in a cold sweat; is it really worth it over the vaporetto?!

    Thanks!

    http://www.dreamflydiscover.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heylow fellow wanderluster 😀 One look at your page was enough to hit the follow button ❤ First of all a HUGE sorry for the late reply. As you can guess I was away trying to satiate my travel hunger.I am hoping your trip is not yet over :\ .Oops I digress. Well, coming to the question if you think Venice might be a once in your lifetime go for the Water taxi. Or else you can do with the Vaporetto. The cons with the Vaporetto is its very slow and if crowded kinda spoils the mood. But then if you have other splurges planned then you might as well save up on this. Hope I helped in some way! And sorry again for the delay 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha a kind of in the middle. We opted for a shared water taxi. Should be less crowded and quicker than the Vaporetto but not as pricey as a private water taxi 🙂 Best of both, I hope! Didn’t realise this was an option – thank you Expedia!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

